Japan Bans Foreign Visitors From 111 Countries And Regions Including The Philippines

You may have to shelve your Japan travel plans for a little while longer.
by Jam Nitura for Preview.ph   |  May 27, 2020
Image: pexels.com
Share This!

Is Japan first on your bucket list once air travel resumes normal operations? Sorry to burst your bubble, but it looks like you'll have to put that dream on hold for now. Japan has extended their entry ban to 11 more countries—including the Philippines—in a continued effort to curb the spread of COVID-19 within the country. 

The decision was announced by Prime Minister Shinzo Abe in a government task force meeting last Monday. Included in the new list of restricted countries are Afghanistan, Argentina, Bangladesh, El Salvador, Ghana, Guinea, India, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, South Africa, and Tajikistan.

With this measure in place, foreign nationals who’ve visited the aforementioned countries within the last 14 days will be turned away at the airport starting tomorrow, May 27, 2020.

A total of 111 countries and regions are now part of the entry ban, which currently includes the Philippines, the United States, China, South Korea, and all of Europe.


See below for the list of all areas included in Japan’s travel advisory.


Brunei, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand, Viet Nam


Australia, New Zealand

North America   

Canada, United States

Latin America and the Caribbean   

Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Bahamas, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Honduras, Mexico, Panama, Peru, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Uruguay

Featured Video


Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Vatican

Middle East    

Bahrain, Iran, Israel, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates


Cape Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritius, Morocco, Sao Tome and Principe


Prime Minister Abe also mentioned in the same meeting that Japan is set to maintain their current border control measures until the end of June. Notable of these regulations are the suspension of visas, and a 14-day quarantine period for all those entering the country.

According to Kyodo News, the measures taken by Japan to impede the coronavirus pandemic has cast a critical blow on their economy. “Inbound figures were down 99.9 percent in April from a year earlier to just 2,900,” they revealed in an article.

In a recent article by The Japan Times, the Japanese government is reportedly gearing up to cover half of their tourists' travel expenses once the coronavirus threat has declined, using a fund worth ¥1.35 trillion (or approximately $12.5 billion). "The program could start in July if novel coronavirus infections subside soon," Japan Tourism Agency chief Hiroshi Tabata told a news conference Wednesday of last week. 

This story originally appeared on Preview.ph.


* Minor edits have been made by the Candymag.com editors.

How do you feel about this article?
About the author
Jam Nitura for Preview.ph
VIEW OTHER ARTICLES FROM Jam Nitura for Preview.ph
How do you feel?
Click on your mood to read related stories
The Latest
Change your passwords now if they contain any of these details.
From a bachelor's degree to short courses.
Fill your walls and ceiling with gorgeous constellations.
Did you know that she was a student jock, too?