A New Facebook Feature Lets You “Lock” Your Profile From Strangers

This makes it easier for users to change their privacy settings instead of doing it one by one.
by Mylene Mendoza   |  Jul 21, 2021
Image: Shutterstock
Share This!

On social media platforms where anybody, even strangers, can easily look you up, it's important to have the option to manage your privacy and control who has access to the things you post. Nowadays, Facebook is among the popular apps that help people easily stay connected. On the other hand, it's also quite easy for people you don't know to find you on the app.

In one of its attempts to beef up its security features, Facebook rolled out another feature that allows you to lock your profile so that anyone who isn't on your friends list would only have a limited view of your Facebook profile. When you lock your profile, only your friends would be able to see the following:

  • Photos and posts on your profile
  • You full size profile picture or cover photo
  • Your Stories
  • Your new posts and photos

If you have any posts from the past that are set to Public, the settings will automatically change so that they would only become visible to your Friends List. Additionally, only a portion of the information in your About page would be available to anyone who views your profile.

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

Although there are individual settings that let users do these features, the locking of the profile makes it so that the user will only need to use one feature to control them altogether. This makes it easier for users to change their privacy settings instead of doing it one by one. Unfortunately, the feature is only available in select countries so far. But an article by a local tech website called Tech Pilipinas shared a loophole that Pinoy Facebook users could try should they wish to make use of the feature. According to the website, you'd need to be on the Facebook Lite app and you'd have to switch the language of the app to activate the feature.

CONTINUE READING BELOW
Featured Video

But if you wish to sit it out and wait until it's been rolled out in the country, you have other options to increase your account's privacy settings, including the app's Privacy Checkup feature, changing your story settings, choosing who can view your posts and photos, and controlling who can send friend requests and who can follow you.

ADVERTISEMENT - CONTINUE READING BELOW

READ MORE:

900k Pinoy Facebook Users' Data Got Leaked, Here's How to Check if Yours Was Included

Here's Why You Shouldn't Have Sensitive Convos or Files on Facebook Messenger

How to Stop Strangers From Finding You on Facebook Using Your Phone Number

ICYDK, You Can Use Messenger Even With a Deactivated Facebook Account

#WATCHCANDY: Subscribe to Candy Magazine on YouTube and follow @candymagdotcom on Tiktok for guides to college life and beyond.

Candy is now on Quento! Click here to download the app and enjoy more articles and videos from Candy and your favorite websites!

REAX!
How do you feel about this article?
About the author
Mylene Mendoza
Candy Staff Writer
VIEW OTHER ARTICLES FROM Mylene
How do you feel?
Click on your mood to read related stories
The Latest
We can't help but think their bonds with each other are the ultimate #FriendshipGoals.
His only Aprobado grade is for the subject 'General Pathology, its Clinic, and Pathologic Histology.'
The actor isn't shy in showering Barbie's pics with the most loving and amusing comments.
'Rest assured that once we receive the final go signal, you will be the first to know.'
They're now taking the center stage and claiming their time to shine.
Looking to start a K-pop album collection?
It not only allowed her to give back and help in the collective effort against COVID-19, but it also gave her something to strive for.
LOAD MORE ARTICLES
CONNECT WITH US