If you rely on friends for access to Netflix (or vice versa), here's something you need to know. It seems that Netflix is rolling out a new feature that would prevent any unauthorized access to the streaming platform.
A report by TVLine says that a Netflix spokesperson has confirmed that they are testing out a measure that would regulate the sharing of accounts only to those who are in the same household or have permission from the Account Owner to access the platform. Users other than the Account Owner will receive a prompt asking them to verify that they are authorized to access the account by entering a verification code sent via a confirmation text or e-mail to the Account Owner.
If the user chooses to verify at a later time, they will still be able to access Netflix and its library, but a prompt asking for verification will pop up at a later time. If verification isn't made, the user will be asked to set up their own account, CNN reports. For the time being, however, there are no reports yet of the feature affecting accounts in the Philippines. But it isn't entirely impossible that the measure will be rolled out in the country some time in the future.